Boston University Men’s Lacrosse Wins First Patriot League Title

college sports

The Terriers, who are in their ninth year, are heading to their first NCAA Tournament.

For the first time in the program’s history, the Boston University men’s lacrosse team is heading to the NCAA Tournament.

The Terriers, who are in their ninth year as a program, edged out Army West Point 14-10 on Sunday at Nickerson Field in the championship to claim their first Patriot League title. A thrilling 13-12 win over Lehigh in the semifinals on Friday made that possible.

The roster features many local players: Jett Dziama (Natick, Noble and Greenough), Anthony Forziati (Wakefield), Jack Collins (Marblehead, Avon Old Farms), Zach Travaglini (Winchester, Belmont Hill), Stephen Gaskill III (Chelsea, Noble and Greenough), Jason Child (Needham), Alex Gainey (Westwood, St. Sebastian’s, Johns Hopkins), Trey Brown (Hopkinton, Belmont Hill), Harry Friedman (Newton, Middlesex), Patrick Morrison (Franklin) and Brian Garrity (Norwell) ).

Timmy Ley led with 4 goals against the Army, Roy Meyer caught 7 ground balls and caused 6 turnovers, and Matt Garber made 15 saves. The Terriers built a 7-5 lead at halftime and used a 5-2 third quarter to take the lead before holding the Black Knights late.

At the. 16 BU will discover their seed and NCAA Tournament opponent during the selection program, which airs Sunday at 9pm on ESPNU.

Leave a Comment